depression and fatigue


Psalms 28:7-8

7 The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

8 The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

I have struggled with depression for many years. Over the years it has morphed somewhat and today’s struggles are not quite the same as those in the past. I suspect, although there are commonalities, depression affects all who struggle with it in slightly different ways according to our nature and circumstances.

One feature that has been a constant for me is fatigue – mental and physical fatigue. As I grow older the fatigue becomes more pronounced. Thinking becomes harder and I lack physical stamina. This is partly the results of age but depression certainly exaggerates it; during periods when the depression lifts my capacities improve significantly.

All of us, whether suffering from depression or not are inclined to fatigue. The pressures of life drain the young while old age brings fatigue to the old.

I have always found in my weakness that the Lord is my strength. Even just telling myself this somehow increases my strength. The writers of Scripture discovered through the Spirit the wisdom of leaning on the Lord for everything. If fatigue is a trouble you face don’t forget the Lord is your strength – a moment at a time, a minute at a time, a day at a time… and every day of your life.

Blog at WordPress.com.